Play deck
Docks with packs, play-and-charge kits and spare sets for Xbox One and Series X|S controllers, compared in one table.
| Model | Packs in the box | Rated play per pack | Charge time | Lights | From |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quad Charging Dock, 4 × 4080 mWh | 4 × 4,080 mWh | about 10 hours | 2.5 to 3 hours | Red and green | $27.99 |
| RGB Charging Station, 6200 mWh | 2 packs or 4 packs, 6,200 mWh | 15 to 20 hours | 4 to 5 hours | Red and green, can go dark | $20.99 |
| A100 Charging Station, 5520 mWh | 2 packs or 4 packs, 5,520 mWh | 18 to 25 hours | about 4 hours | Red and green, can go dark | $32.99 |
| Compact Dual Charger, 2 × 6200 mWh | 2 × 6,200 mWh | about 30 hours across both packs | about 5 hours | Red and green | $20.99 |
| Quad Charger with Light Switch, 4 × 4800 mWh | 4 × 4,800 mWh | up to 20 hours | about 4 hours | Red and green, can go dark | $27.99 |
| PRO Charging Station, 4 × 4800 mWh PRO | 4 × 4,800 mWh | about 15 hours | 3 to 4 hours per pack | Red and green, can go dark | $29.99 |
| Six-Pack Charging Station, 6 × 3600 mWh | 6 × 3,600 mWh | Not stated | Not stated | Red and green | $39.99 |
| Quad Charger with Built-In Cable, 4 × 2550 mAh | 4 × 5,520 mWh | 20 to 25 hours | 5 to 6 hours | Red and green | $29.99 |
| Play and Charge Kit, 2 × 4800 mWh | 2 × 4,800 mWh | 8 to 12 hours per pack | about 4 hours | Red and green, can go dark | $18.99 |
| A100 Spare Battery Set, 2 × 5520 mWh | 2 × 5,520 mWh | Not stated | Not stated | None | $23.99 |
Capacity
Each bar is a pack's capacity in mWh. A longer bar means more play from one charge, and a longer wait on the dock before the light turns green.
Quad Charger with Light Switch, 4 × 4800 mWh: up to 20 hours, PRO Charging Station, 4 × 4800 mWh PRO: about 15 hours, Play and Charge Kit, 2 × 4800 mWh: 8 to 12 hours per pack
A100 Charging Station, 5520 mWh: 18 to 25 hours, Quad Charger with Built-In Cable, 4 × 2550 mAh: 20 to 25 hours, A100 Spare Battery Set, 2 × 5520 mWh
RGB Charging Station, 6200 mWh: 15 to 20 hours, Compact Dual Charger, 2 × 6200 mWh: about 30 hours across both packs
mWh measures the energy a pack stores. The quad charger with the built-in cable sells its packs as 2550 mAh; its own box art gives the same pack as 5520 mWh, and that is the row it sits in.
Most homes need one of two things. If the controllers die mid-session and someone hunts for AA cells, a dock with packs ends that: one pack runs in each controller while its spare charges. If you play plugged in anyway, a play-and-charge kit lets the cable feed the pack inside the controller.
After that, choose by pack size and by night light. Packs run from 3600 to 6200 mWh, and the bigger the pack, the longer it lasts and the longer it charges. Bedroom docks should go dark on a switch or a long press.
The 10 models here, on the Xbox charging stations and Xbox play and charge kits shelves, are part of the DINOSTRIKE lineup, and each page lists what is in its box.
Not sure your controller takes a pack? Run the fit check: the Elite Series 2 and the Xbox 360 pad take none of ours.
Take a dock if your controllers die mid-session: a spare pack charges while the other one runs. Take a play and charge kit if you are happy to play with a cable plugged in while the pack charges inside the controller.
The docks list protection against over-charge, over-current, over-heating and short circuit, and a full pack shows green. Still, the U.S. Fire Administration advises charging on a solid, flat surface and not leaving devices charging unattended when you can avoid it, so the habit to build is: packs in after the session, dock unplugged once the lights turn green. Stop using any pack that swells, leaks or gets damaged. The help desk has the battery care notes.
Xbox One and Series X|S controllers take the same pack, but their battery doors are shaped differently. Kits with covers include two of each, so you can use the pair that matches your pad.